Duplicating a list?

TonyBenedetti

Hobbyist Programmer & Fabrik Fan
Rob/Cheesegrits ... a few years ago I was working on a project which I abandoned/neglected all this while because "real life" got in the way --- I'm just a hobbyist programmer (although I wrote code for a living at IBM for 35 years before "retiring"). Back in January 2011, I asked a question (http://fabrikar.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19928) about duplicating a list (back then it was called a "table" in Fabrik).
Is there a way to duplicate a table/group/elements set (includng the underlying MySQL table)?

What I would like to do is create a table with a bunch of common elements (e.g., Title, Source, Date Created, Date Modified, ...) and then use that as the basis for other tables that share those common elements. I tried to use the Tables/Copy route, but it seems to have created just the Fabrik stuff and not the MySQL stuff. I suppose I could do it element-by-element, but I have a slew of common fields and a bunch of tables to set up with those common fields. ...
Felikcat kindly gave me a solution that worked (and worked well) ... but now I have some time on my hands and wondered if it would be worth my while working up a more permanent solution for the Fabrik community.

I was thinking about a new button on the "Lists" toolbar that would "Clone" (or "Duplicate" or "Replicate" or...) the entire definition of a list ... including the List itself, the associated Group(s) & Element(s) as well as a new MySQL table?

It could be used for folks like me to set up a "skeleton" for a list that could be amended for each actual list (and it's underlying MySQL table).

All of the code is in Fabrik already to replicate the list/group/element set as well as to create a new MySQL table. I think it would be fairly(?) easy to marry up the functionality.